Lackluster - Lexicon Of Goods


supported by
  • Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

     name your price




How does one make a resounding career statement in 2014, to establish it over their two decades of previously released music? Does one go for an obscure minimalist affair, a concept album based on the inherently wonderful sounds of a metallic bucket, a piece of cardboard and a lead pencil? A simple best-of?

Nope, if you’re Esa Ruoho a.k.a. Lackluster, you’ve gone for a wide spectrum covering everything from barely beatless late-night sensuality ("Purple Rooms") to hobbling, beats held-together with pieces of gum and bubblewrap, with massive doses of melodic layers ("Falling All Over The Place”, “Urban Sprawls").. Then you trail it all at the end with skittery skattery drum’n’bass ("So There Spherical") and pure ambience laced with electric interference ("Calming Presence”).

Much like a sonic dictionary, this album, unlike any other previously released, thoroughly covers the various moods and modes of Lackluster.

The sources of inspiration for these tracks range from the -45 Celsius to various historical computers, to Free Energy inventors and researchers, nutrition and health, human energy and, fashionably late to the party, mr. mysticism.

As regards the artwork, the human being is like a typewriter, which the world - or the universe - plays, and the instrument resonates the chord onwards and outwards.

“This is an entire Lexicon of your work, I hear so much.” said Dj Konvndrvm aka John Hammond, the label boss of JellyFish Frequency Recordings upon hearing “Lexicon of Goods” for the first time.
To fit in with the title of the album, the tracks are in alphabetical order.

1. Basketface (05:23)
2. Beep Terrace (02:50)
3. Calming Presence (09:57)
4. CombiA13 (07:11)
5. Ender 2 (02:00)
6. Falling All Over The place (06:04)
7. Flaccidity (04:26)
8. Fraasit (08:47)
9. Purple Rooms (05:38)
10. So There Spherical (04:08)
11. Urban Sprawls (05:19)
12. Windup (04:23)

Cities involved: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada. Dublin, Ireland. Shoreditch, London, United Kingdom. Kontula, Helsinki, Finland.

With this release JFFR is very proud to once again associate it's earnings with the -movement . (See: JFFR - VA Moebius Chambers 2013)

The Martin Fleischmann Memorial Project is dedicated to researching Low Energy Nuclear Reactions (LENR) - the new, more scientifically accurate name for Cold Fusion. Stanley Pons and Martin Fleischmann were briefly the poster boys for cold fusion back in the 1980s. Derided by the media and mainstream scientists, the whole name cold fusion was blackballed. Yet the promise is still there. Even the Stanford Research Institute has replicated six different LENR claims. Cold Fusion/LENR/CANR can, and will, completely replace our regular Nuclear Fission, making it both unsustainable and ancient. Anyone can assist this on-going research by crowdfunding the MFMP.

More Information here:
Direct Donate Link:

Welcome to the language of Lackluster. Here is your “Lexicon of Goods”.


released 16 December 2014

Cat Number: JFFRNET019



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist


JFFR Monterey, California

JellyFish Frequency Recordings (JFFR) is a donation-based free record label established in 2012 to provide a space for truly pioneering psychedelic sounds. 

Dedicated to raising awareness of our oceans, the world around and within us, JFFR collaborates with artists to produce psychedelic electronica, with a focus on darkpsy. All proceeds are donated to the artist’s humanitarian cause of choice. ... more

contact / help

Contact JFFR

Download help

Redeem download codes